Pizza Like You’ve Never Seen Before

Who doesn’t love a good, cheesy, doughy, meaty pizza? A lot of people, to be honest. To people with gluten-free, vegan and vegetarian preferences, the classic pepperoni may just not cut it! Luckily, there are actually hundreds of other options when it comes to pizza. From base to sauce to toppings, every step can be adapted to fit your dietary restrictions! Here are a few recommendations for substituting ingredients:

  • Vegan – Most pizzas have a gooey layer of cheese on top of the sauce. For a vegan option, you could simply replace this with vegan cheese! These cheeses are usually made out of nuts, soy proteins or vegetable oils. If you want to get creative, you could skip the cheese altogether and use a variety of flavoured sauces, or condiments like ranch. Some of the most authentic pizzas created in Italy only use olive oil, tomatoes and herbs on the base, and they turn out delicious, so you should definitely give vegan pizza a go! Make sure to look out for butter or milk that may have been used in the base or the sauce.
  • Gluten-Free – Since the very base of most pizzas is made of flour, it may seem as though making a pizza gluten-free is impossible. In reality, you can easily swap out white flour for rice flour, chickpea flour or a variety of other gluten-free flours. If you are feeling more adventurous, crusts can also be made out of cauliflower or zucchini. Some pizzas swap out the crust altogether, using large mushrooms, eggplant or potatoes as a base.
  • Vegetarian – It is no secret that there are many vegetarian pizzas available. In fact, some of the classics like Margherita pizza are entirely vegetarian. However, if you are looking for newer, more innovative combinations, there are several options for you to try! Mushrooms, eggplant and pumpkins are great toppings due to their substantial texture. Adding fruits like pineapples, figs and even apples to savoury pizzas, while highly debated, can be quite delicious. Beware of pizzas with parmesan on them, since if made using traditional methods, the cheese is not vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *